The Avanzino Leadership Award honors the recipient for their outstanding leadership and purposeful dedication to the human-animal bond.

This award is named after Rich Avanzino, the father of the no-kill movement and Maddie’s Fund® President from 1999-2015. It recognizes significant achievement and courage to look beyond the status quo and make bold decisions to improve the lives of pets and their people.

The award is presented with a $25,000 grant to be designated by recipient.

Recipients of this prestigious honor:

Dr. Lila Miller

2021: Dr. Lila Miller

Dr. Michael Blackwell

2020: Dr. Michael Blackwell

Dr. Julie Levy

2017: Dr. Julie Levy

2016: Dr. Ellen Jefferson